Sobhani bandwagon?

I think I like this guy…

I wrote an email to Sobhani’s campaign asking some questions about his views on issues not explicitly listed on his website.

Here is what I received back, unedited.  Do I agree with everything he says?  No.  Would I like to see him take a stance on every question I asked?  Sure, but he didn’t.  But, I have to give him credit for knowing what he cares about and not pandering on an issue just because I asked, and I really do like most of what he wrote.  I may just jump on the Sobhani bandwagon with my vote.  Anyone have a reason I shouldn’t?

Dear Paula Ross,

Your interest in my campaign for U.S. Senate is much appreciated, and through this response I hope to answer some of the questions you have regarding my stances. 

  On Education: I have two priorities when it comes to education. The first is to create 15,000 internships for talented high school students from socio-economically disadvantaged backgrounds. This will be a pilot program in Maryland which I know will be successful in helping young men and women get practical experience for the workplace, giving them a leg up in finding a well-paying job. The second is to make student loans tax deductible. America may be the world’s envy when it comes to the number or quality of our colleges, universities and technical institutes, but this quickly becomes irrelevant if Americans can no longer afford to attend them. When it comes to education, we need to put our money where our mouth is and create the same incentives for advanced education that we have for home ownership.

 On Medicare and Social Security: Those who have paid into the social security system should see a return on their years of paying into the system, but the real question today is whether your children or mine will be able to rely on social security being there when they retire. The real entitlement crisis however is Medicare. The projected cost of Medicare will undeniably bankrupt the system in the very near future – it is on an unsustainable path. Politicians on both sides are using Medicare as a political football and doing absolutely nothing to deal with the crisis. Medicare needs to be reformed to ensure that those who have reached retirement can count on a health care system that meets their needs without decimating their savings. Making sure these programs can exist in the future will require some serious talk today about efficiencies and sacrifices. Let’s have that conversation honestly, and put aside the political games.

 On Foreign Policy: My basic concern is that we lack leadership today. Too often narrow interests dominate our foreign policy agenda and what gets lost in these debates is the vision of what America needs to do best ensure our economic competitiveness and national security. On China, I believe we should do more to improve our trade deficit, including encouraging manufacturing first at home and when not practical at least in our own hemisphere. Israel is a strong ally of the United States, and I am concerned that efforts to appear more balanced in the resolution of the long-standing Palestinian stand off has made the Israelis feel a cold shoulder from Washington in recent years. This should be remedied. The answer to Iran lies in a peaceful transition to a more democratic system where the rights of citizens are respected at home and Iran becomes a constructive actor abroad. This will diminish the current regime’s demand for a nuclear option.

 On Women’s Reproductive Rights: At present, women, through consultation with their doctor are allowed to make decisions regarding the matter. If the public feels the need to change the status-quo in regards to the current policy, then that is something which can be accomplished through the democratic process. My foremost goal at this point is to revive both the state and national economy, and provide a prosperous future to our citizens. 

 Hopefully I’ve been able to answer your most pressing concerns. Once again, thank you for taking such an interest in the campaign. 

Sincerely, 

Rob Sobhani

 

Leave a comment